Noob question (1 Viewer)

So I'm relatively new to Bukowski I only discovered him in October and as of last week I've read all his novels. I won't bother describing how much I loved them because I'm sure you all know the feeling. Anyway I really want to start getting into his poetry but don't want to end up buying 60 books, so what I'm wondering is if there aren't like a couple big ass volumes of his stuff I can get? I'd much prefer that instead of obsessively checking online and the bookstore to get the next poetry collection.

If any of you know about that I'd much appreciate it.

20729.jpg

it's an overview of his entire career.

pleasures of the damned is a great place to start - if you're looking for a single volume from some point in his career, you'll get different suggestions from everyone... mine would be either 'war all the time' or 'last night of the earth poems.'

The only bad thing about "Pleasures Of The Damned", is the fact that over 60% of the poems are from the posthumous poetry collections, and some of those poems seems to have been edited or changed for the worse by somebody else than Bukowski. Other than that, it's a great book and it contains over 20 previously unpublished poems.

Last edited by a moderator:
The first piece of Bukowski I got my hands on, by recomendation from a friend, was "Sifting through the madness, for the word, the line, the way", it completely blew me away and as they say, the rest is history.

I really want to start getting into his poetry