if you like bukowski...

zobraks

Moderator
Don't panic, you still have many many Buk books to read.
However, if you'd rather read some other author check this thread and similar threads (1, 2, 3, 4...)
 
Bob Kaufman.

Honestly, I’m not a big beat fan (which is funny because Bob Kaufman coined “beatnik”) but Kaufman is powerful.

‘The Ancient Rain: Poems 1956-1978’ is what i’d suggest. He’s definitely got a Bukowski vibe at times but still has his own voice.
 
Some great recommendations in here:-)

I will add the Danish author, Tom Kristensen to this list. I find him very similar to Bukowski(and Hamsun). Check out his novel, Hærverk(Havoc) from 1930.

And there is also this Swiss writer Robert Walser, who reminds me of Bukowski. Especially his book Jakob von Gunten.
 
Billy Childish - Sex Crimes of the Futcher, Note books of a Naked Youth, My Fault, The Stonemason.

Lots of poetry by him is in a similar vein too. The man with the gallows eyes, the uncorrected Billy Childish...
 
Apart from being a treasure chest of Bukowski info, this forum has provided me with very nice recommendations from the multiple "Other authors you like" threads. Seeing that the forum is closing, I thought I'd finally create a user.

While there is still time, I will kindly ask you all to bring me even more recommendations of books that - like those of Buk, Fante, and Kafka - cut the bullshit and tell it as it is. I am rather young and need enough books to fill out a lifetime of reading now that this forum is closing, so please don't hold back!
 
Last edited:
Here are some of my favorites that fit that style and a place to start with each of them:

Dan Fante (Chump Change)

Fernanda Melchor (Season of Hurracaines)

Irvine Welsh (Trainspotting)

Raymond Carver (What We Talk About When We Talk About Love)

Pedro Juan Gutierrez (Dirty Habana Trilogy)


These are just off the top of my head. There are a lot more of course, some of which you probably know (Hunter S. Thompson, Vonnegut, etc.). You should obviously check out Bukowski's influences (Céline, John Fante, etc.), too. Also, I must suggest you check out work created by the memebers of this forum. You won’t be disappointed.
 
If you are adventurous and ready for a bad Buk plagiarism, try Philippe Djian. He’s a french « writer », maybe some of it is translated in English. You never know. Shit happens.

Don’t forget Kafka and Salinger...
 
Look... if you’re allergic to Salinger that’s YOUR problem. Obviously Bukowski liked him and so do lots of people amongst them many Bukowski fans. Be aware of that, swallow it because you’re NOT the center of the world. Have I made it clear to you?
 
Aw, I APOLOGIZE, if I've hurt your feelings.
I really didn't mean to be rude.
Look my friend... you didn’t hurt my feelings. And by the way my feelings don’t matter. Really. Simple said I don’t want to start a feud here. It‘s obvious that Buk liked Salinger and it‘s obvious that lots of Buk fans like Salinger. You didn’t write : do forget Salinger. You wrote : DO forget. Bukowski didn’t like dictature and writing so you sort of betray him.
So have some respect towards somebody else opinion, beginning with Buk’s one!
That’s it. Don’t be offensive to me, I don’t want to be offensive to you.
Here we are : two Buk fans and we should fight about it? Come on!
He was right : this world is a circus.
All the best to you.

Please, let us comport ourselves with dignity and grace.




Besides, everyone knows I'm the center of the universe.
Hello, I agree 100% lol!
And by the way I absolutely love your change of look!
Kiss from Belgium!

Jean-Pierre
 
This site has been archived and is no longer accepting new posts.
Top