Aftermath... in Spanish premiered on Youtube (1 Viewer)

That was interesting watching that, even though I am very weak in Spanish, I could get the feeling of the story.

Was it translated well?

Thanks for showing us.

Translators and writers fall into the same category: all translations suck, all books suck... save theirs. Being a translator myself, I guess you get the picture. To be honest, though, I do not have a copy of this book and I can't really judge the translation. The title sounds a tad too literal to my ears, but what I do I know. Bukowski is not easy to translate. The simpler he gets, the harder it is to translate him properly. I can't recall the last time I read a Bukowski book in Spanish, probably 15 or so years ago. When you're a translator, you don't want to read translations, believe me. Even if you read the text in your own language, you can hear and see and feel the English words all along. It's painful. The worst torture ever.

But I'll buy a copy for sure ;)

Bukowski is not easy to translate. The simpler he gets, the harder it is to translate him properly.

Even if you read the text in your own language, you can hear and see and feel the English words all along.

Buk's novels, Notes of a dirty old man, Tales of ordinary madness and Septuagenerian stew have been translated in Dutch.
(Post Office, Factotum and Women are still in print.)

The translations of his novels in Dutch are "okay"...
The short stories are readable...but not great.
The poems? Really awful.

A Dutch guy called Gerard Bellaart, translated a selection of Buk's poems in Dutch, I've never read them.

Cold Turkey Press' first publication was "Drunk Miracles & Other Immolations" (1970), a selection of poems by Charles Bukowski.

drunkmiracles.jpg

Bellaart: I first came across the writings of Charles Bukowski in 1965, Hydra, Greece, when someone handed me a copy of 'The Outsider'.