Paintings tipped in books (1 Viewer)

Many of the "upper end" Bukowski books have original paintings (not prints) tipped in & I've seen these advertised on abe and, at times, on ebay. I've noticed that some of these are pastels but what other medium did Buk use? Are we talking watercolours, crayons, oils, . . . other stuff?

Another question: did Buk choose specific paintings for specific volumes? or was it more ad hoc? If so, did Martin choose these things as he did many of the poems?

What are people's thoughts on these (very expensive) editions? Nice one going for a tidy sum on abe.

Bukowski used different media to produce these paintings. I have copies that use pastels and thickly laid on acrylics. I'm not an artist and thus not familiar with different types of media. Perhaps someone else here can elaborate. My understanding is that Bukowski sent batches of artwork to Martin and there was no real rhyme or reason as to how they were inserted in the books. The quality of the paintings I have vary widely. You might want to click on the Art link on the left for a good overall view.

Acrylics, watercolors, pastels, oil paint, pens - Roughly in that order. Crayons after 1967 or so (guess why), but they were usually used on letters, not art for books.

I think he gave up using oil early on, as that takes forever to dry, and it isn't made to use on paper. The few I've seen, the oil from the paint has saturated the paper, which isn't the greatest thing to have pressed between the pages of an expensive book.

As for the cost, if you can afford one now, buy it. They are (usually) the rarest forms of the books they are in, and just looking at it as art, you rarely get the chance to buy a Bukowski painting these days outside of a book, so if you're really interested in owning his art, you have to go to the books.