The Other - Movie (1 Viewer)

i'm a student in film school
i'm making a film "inspired" by Chinaski called "The Other"
it's a fragment from Factotum, the part where he goes to live with his parents

we're in preproduction now, we'll film in january 2007, and in june 2007 the movie will be ready for my exam.
hopefully you'll see it on festivals, or on youtube.

the movie will be black and white/color, 35mm film (with animated parts)

i'll translate the script soon if anyone is interested in reading it.

wish me luck

i chose

mainly because it's a studio film. and i was supposed to shoot as much of it in the studio...

and because i like that part a lot. and i is ok for learning how to work with actors and everything - it will make a good school film.

too bad the script is drifting away from the original story.
somehow if i don't tell you it's inspired by bukowski, you wouldn't guess

dorin, I enjoyed that very much.

I know you had had concerns about the script drifting away from Bukowski, but the spirit was there.

and because you didn't feel obligated to stick exactly to that scene from Factotum, I think the main character switch from writer to artist was a great idea visually. a lot of times movies that deal with writers are full of voice overs reading the writers' words. that's fine for feature length, but not for a short film. the art made a better impact in a shorter amount of time.

very good short film influenced by Bukowski.

good stuff, you should be proud.

Now that is some staying power, posting something and 2 years later the follow through.

I got the Bukowski spirit through that, but wondered at first when they were fishing. As soon as the old man started hollering at him it made sense. You captured it.

Talk about staying power; when are you going to change that dog's tie? It's beginning to get ripe around here...

And Dorin, can you stop sipping that shot glass and pass it over here; I know what to do with it...