new here, just wanted to comment on how nice a resource this forum is (1 Viewer)

Hi all, newbie here from Minneapolis MN with only one post in the classical music thread.

I had Tales of Ordinary Madness for years and liked it but kind of dismissed because I just wasn't in the right headspace to appreciate it correctly. Then a few years ago my 14 year marriage broke up and I got back into creative writing again as a way to work out some stuff inside. I had a layover in Los Angeles shortly after that, waiting at beautiful Union Station waiting for the train that would take me up the Pacific Coast Highway to Big Sur and I had a few hours to kill so I went for a stroll as I had never seen any of LA except from what a person sees flying into the airport. Well, when you take a stroll towards the city from Union Station you walk straight through Skid Row. I'm into photography so this was a great little chance for some street photography.

There were a couple times when I was scared my camera was attracting attention but aside from that I LOVED IT THERE! The streets were alive with people, and while I'm glad I wasn't in their situation I appreciated the whole vibe of the area. I stumbled into a bar to get a little buzz on and the bar was (I found out in retrospect) a legendary dive bar on Skid Row called the King Edward Saloon that supposedly a lot of people like Tom Waits and other LA lushes had dug. It was crazy fun in there, cheap beer and talking easily to strangers and they had a little glass booth fishbowl thing for smokers to sit in. This was the city I wanted to see. It was one ofg the grandest afternoons I have ever had exploring Skid Row while drunk and taking incognito photographs of bums and people laying in the street and the fabulous Mexican food trucks and people people people. It just felt alive.

Seeking books about that whole vibe I stumbled into John Fante's Ask The Dust (wonderful book)