if you like bukowski...

Try Will Self, W.T.Vollmann and some Russians like Dostoyevsky and Gogol.

maybe the second time , this will work. Most of the above authors are brilliant (except for the ones I haven't read yet). No one has mentioned Will Self yet and W.T.Vollmann is a must read although has been mentioned already

what a gallah! I thought that my posts werent getting through.
 

Ponder

"So fuck Doubleday Doran"
RIP
No problem, the webmaster is hardly busy with this forum, so he will put your posts together!
 

bospress.net

www.bospress.net
Pavlovich74,
So we know not that you are a cook, have recently stolen a $40 Bukowski book, have insomnia and have no appetite. Also, that you like Vollmann.

On to Bukowski. What is your favorite Book? Favorite poem? Do you collect or buy only to read?
 
Ever since i found a copy of " Ham on Rye" ive been stuck on the one author deviating slightly to read some of the books that B had mentioned in his work. I only stole the one book, at the time I could imagine Buk saying it was ok cause he was dead and wouldnt get any royalties any way. Before I read Buk It was mainly Russian lit that I was interested in

Favorite poems are metamorphosis and we'll take them that I have already quoted and put out the light ( the flash of lightning..). Too many poems and stories to mention right now but out of the thirteen books ( purchased ) that I have there are only a few stories that i can say dont either make me laugh or even consider my own life in relation to the stories being told
 

bospress.net

www.bospress.net
Ever since i found a copy of " Ham on Rye" ive been stuck on the one author deviating slightly to read some of the books that B had mentioned in his work. I only stole the one book, at the time I could imagine Buk saying it was ok cause he was dead and wouldnt get any royalties any way. Before I read Buk It was mainly Russian lit that I was interested in

When you were imagining him talking to you from beyond the grave, did he also say that his heirs did not need the money? They are very much alive.

Bill
 
what else should you read?

Harry Crews and Bukowski are kindred spirits, though Crews has a very traditional structure to his books that contrasts with Bukowski's heterodox style. They are alike insofar as the darkness of their worldviews is reflected in their books, and they write about marginal characters. A highly recommended author.
 
I can't believe no-one's mentioned Henry Miller yet!


I'd say anyone wanting something funny, Bukowski-esque and generally a good read, go for Sexus by Miller.
 

mjp

Founding member
I'd say anyone wanting something funny, Bukowski-esque and generally a good read, go for Sexus by Miller.
Sexus just reminds me of Robert Deniro and Juliette Lewis in Cape Fear...

Danielle, I told you, you can't escape your demons just by leaving home.

I didn't. My parents brought me here.

Of course. Where's Sexus?

Back at the house.

Shame. I had hoped we could read aloud from it together.

Well...I, um... I memorized some for you.

Did you?

Yeah.

Well, I'm impressed. Which part?

The part...You know what part. You know.


Tsk, tsk, tsk. I don't think you did your homework.

I did.


What parts was that? The good parts?

Yeah, they were...

Were you a good girl?

I was. I knew you'd follow me here.

And then she proceeds to throw boiling water in his face, which doesn't even make Deniro's character flinch - being a supervillan and all - and he says, "Are you offering me somethin' hot?"

I know Deniro was supposed to be menacing, but that movie is pretty damn funny. I think he was playing it for laughs.
 

hoochmonkey9

Art should be its own hammer.
Moderator
Founding member
I know Deniro was supposed to be menacing, but that movie is pretty damn funny. I think he was playing it for laughs.

I like De Niro and all (probably the best actor of his generation), but Mitchum was faaaar more menacing in the role. And if you want of the most menacing performances of all time, watch Mitchum in The Night of the Hunter.
 
Has anyone mentioned Tony O'Neill? I recently discovered him through Burning Shore Press, who also publishes Dan Fante. Tony O'Neill is pretty amazing in my opinion...

I guess I just like junkie stories, haha.

-jeremy
 
I like De Niro and all (probably the best actor of his generation), but Mitchum was faaaar more menacing in the role. And if you want of the most menacing performances of all time, watch Mitchum in The Night of the Hunter.

Yeah, "Love and Hate"...Mitchum takes it, hands down.
 
My list:

Dostoyevski (Notes)
Fante (all of it)
Ray Carver (almost anything)
Hamsun (Hunger)
cummings (Enormous Room)
Jeffers (Rock & Hawk)
Al Purdy (Collected Poems if you can find it)
Hemingway (your choice)
Celine (Journey)

and as a wildcard I'll throw in "Hell" by Henri Barbusse...
also "Bar Scotch" by New Orleans street poet Everette Maddox.
 
T. Coraghessan Boyle...very different but has a similarly sardonic sense of humor and a similarly honest kind of insight into things.
 
i'm also a fan of t.c. boyle
and recommend his novels

another author not yet mentioned
tom robbins
has written an impressive collection
of amusing and thought provoking novels
 
Yeah, someone else told me to read Confederacy of Dunces, haven't yet. That's on my list of things to do when I finish uni
 

mjp

Founding member
Daniil Kharms sounds like a terrorist, or someone who is stealing tech support jobs from hard working Americans, but your blog is good. You should post something here.
 
If You like the humanist in Buk, The Human Comedy by William Saroyan is a must-read. This little book is so raw and unfiltered, it will aim straight for Your heart and make no prisoners on its way.
 
Ask the Dust, by John Fante is a great book. The Neon Bible was written by J.K. Toole, who wrote A confederacy of dunces, and it's a very good novel, in spite of being written at the age of 15. I'd recommend you to read a Spanish book, but I don't know if it has ever been translated into English. That's as pity because its one of my favourite books, it's called El Camino (The Way) and its author is Miguel Delibes.
 
Willie Vlautin - especially his latest - Lean on Pete

Strindberg's Days of Loneliness

Hamsun for sure - check out one of his lesser-known works, Shallow Soil
 
I haven't read A LOT of Buk's work yet and I'm not sure if you like Bukowski if you'd necessarily like these other authors but two of my favorite are:

Chuck Klosterman
and
Chuck Palahniuk
 

DirtyJersey13

The Cruelty of Loveless Love
I have read books by both of them and can't say they reminded me of Bukowski at all. What similarities do you see between them?
 
I guess I should have clarified.
I don't really see any similarities at all (or minimal at best).
I guess the point that I was trying to making was:

I love Bukowski.
I love Klosterman/Palahniuk.
There has to be a reason why I love all 3 authors.
I guess I thought that if I love all 3, others may like all 3?
I may be reaching here. haha.
 
This site has been archived and is no longer accepting new posts.
Top