Photos of Buk's Philly Residences and Work Place, Possible Bar (1 Viewer)

Dear Buk Fans,
I'm back on another Bukowski binge. I've been buying and reading some more of his books that I have put off on purpose. When I was online about 3 weeks ago I discovered this website so I am a serious beginner in the eyes of you long time legends. I bow before respectfully. I have always been stunned to hear that the Barfly stuff was based on his time in Philly. I absolutely love that fact. I have always wondered where that stuff took place in the old days. When I saw on this website that someone somehow found out the specific locations I was speechless. Within a week or so I drove down to Philly and scoped out the places. I took pictures of everything. I am so new to this site that I am unaware if this is old news and pictures of his old haunts is already well known. I hope these pictures are new to people and people enjoy them as much as did finding the places. We all know that Hank used to talk about fighting in the alley behind the bar he used to work at in Philly. Well as far as I know nobody knows the actual address of the bar where he hung out in those days. One of the places he worked was 1601 Fairmont Ave. Well when I was there, there was a restaurant right across the street from 1601. There was an Asian guy working on re-opening the place. Most places that are zoned as restaurants and bars have a tendency to stay that way. Well right behind this restaurant place there was an alley that ran a whole block. I took pictures of that alley way. It was behind locked black metal gates. Could you imagine if that was the alleyway where Buk had his legendary fights with Tommy McGillagan?